The Fella: Les Poissons

So tonight I was cooking our Sunday dinner as I do every week. On Saturdays we go to our local market and buy fresh fish from the market for our Sunday night… this week was trout.

As I was cutting off the fish heads to toss them into the onions, tomatoes, garlic and crème fraîche I set into a verse of “Les poiiiiiissons, les poissons. how I love les poissons…” in a heavy french accent imitating the Disney cook Louis from the little Mermaid. As I looked over coyly at the fella he looked completely lost at my imitation of what almost every American would know as the stereotypical embodiment of a French Chef by Disney’s Little Mermaid that is engrained in US children’s minds and incidentally extremely useful in teaching the use of “les” as a plural pronoun to Anglophones. Of course the Fella’s look of sheer realization (once more) that he is truly living with a foreign being prodded me even more to add gusto to my performance which came at the right time as a was arriving at the “He-He-He Hon-Hon-Hon” part of the piece.

After performing throughly the entire song with full dedication the Fella mentioned that he wished that he had a way of live blogging his life with me. I agreed that this would probably be very entertaining to some.

In short YES knowing these sorts of references will come in handy at some time in your life in France. However be prepared to explain yourself when your French counterpart has no idea what on earth you are talking about. Or don’t explain yourself and go along enjoying the fact that you sand the “Les Poisons” song while chopping off fish heads in your Parisian kitchen… that’s pretty ok too.

A+ EmilieInParis

for more stories of life living with the Fella and other adventures be sure to subscribe to my blog

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

