Old image

169007_695890183810_4366105_nSo i’m on my way to a job interview and I had to come back to this old advert in the metro from 2011. As they say in french “merde, merde,merde”*

A+Emilieinparis

*the french expression for break a leg

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Paris, Paris quirks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old image

  1. maryann says:

    I may have lived in France for about 40 years, I still prefer “bonne chance!”

    • Emilie says:

      In performing and theater it is considered REALLY bad to tell someone Bonne chance before they go on because it suggests that there is a chance that they will do badly, and that it is all up to chance and not in fact up to anything they do. And in the theater especially there are all sorts of forces moving around backstage that no one can control so nothing can be left to luck. And then there is also bon courage but that makes you sound like you are going off to your own execution.I really like the expression Merde, merde,merde… because it gets all your curses out before going on stage, and someone takes on the burden of them for you. I can tell you from personal experience there is nothing more mortifying than saying “shit” into a microphone in front of your entire school assembly while singing a very patriotic song for a 9/11 remembrance because you forgot the words to your solo… and your mom is the choir director. I would have rather somone take on the merde that day. For performers of any kind or anyone going into a situation where they won’t be in total control of the elements and where anything could slip out I would stick to merde, merde, merde. And always three times because that is a magic number.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

