MOVE OVER MACAROONS!

 

The Macaroon: the cake for queens and kings alike. A beautiful, iconic cookie sought after by many in Paris boutiques such as Ladurée and Maison George Larnicol. A great treat and also a good souvenier and gift as I mentioned in my bolg What to buy in Paris that you can read HERE. BUT I think this royal delight has been dethroned by Les Merveilleux!

arton11

IMG_0377

Aux Merveilleux de Fred is a small pâtisserie in the pedestrian street of Rue Passy (a wonderful area for boutiques right next to the Eiffle tower) that makes and sells only one specialty good and that is LES MERVEILLEUX. A fluffy meringue sourounded by a thick layer of a light, delectable whipped cream and then rolled in chocolate shavings. They are a lot like what is called a “bomb au chocolat” that comes from Belgium but with a slightly richer cream. They come in 3 flavors (edit: 5 since this picture has been taken) and can be bought in three sizes: a mini the size of a cupcake, one the size of a slice of cake, and an enormous one that serves 12.

IMG_0378

I obviously opt for the single servings and buy a box of 5 for 8 euros. A pretty great price I must say! These treats are a wonderful delight to bring to a party or eat with tea or after a meal. They do however have to stay chilled so in the summer they can be such a hassle but certainly a wonderful and essential tasting experience of Paris!

Aux Merveilleux de Fred
29, rue de l’Annonciation
75016 Paris
+33(0)145201382
http://www.auxmerveilleux.com/Paris
Tuesday- Saturday 9h00 – 19h30
Sunday 09h00 – 19h00

IMG_0376

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Food, Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MOVE OVER MACAROONS!

  1. maryann says:

    Sounds yummy!

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

