Earning Money to come to Paris

It is the month of July so many of you out there are going to be the next fresh batch of students that flock to Paris for studies either this summer or in the fall.

CONGRATS you are set for the most exciting, destabilizing, frustrating, but enriching experience of your life! But I’m not going to lie to you: Paris is an expensive city so you are really going to need to raise some funds! The way that I did it was to have a dollar garage sale.

You read right 1 DOLLAR and everything must go. I basically cleared out my knickknacks and whatnots before my move to France by laying it all out on my lawn and placing an ad in the paper saying “Garage Sale. Everything 1$” An they came in rushes. Piles of clothes, stacks of books, even a basket of hotel shampoos everything went for a dollar!

The benefits of this sale were simple:
Garage/yard sales can be s stressful bargaining and pricing things according to what you think they are worth and what they will potentially sell for. But at a no-bars, everything must go, liquidation, one dollar sale the answer to “how much to you want for this?” is very simply “One Dollar”. You can basically sit on your front steps and relax allowing people to come to you, you count their items and collect the cash.

I basically took my Goodwill pile; you know that pile of clothes and other outdated belongings that you keep to give away when a clothes drive comes around, and I accumulated everything and anything that I knew I couldn’t bring with me or put into storage and that was my sale. I also reached out to my friends and neighbors and said plain and simple ‘GIVE ME YOUR JUNK”. It was a wonderful way for my friends and loved ones to help me finance my trip without me having to solicit money from them outright.

The pull of people coming in to see what treasures they could find for a dollar also allowed me to sell some larger items like furniture and a TV for a little more. Also by talking to people some to a few people and telling them why I was raising the money a few people contributed to my fund or offered to pay 2xs the dollar price tag.

At the end of the day I had pulled in a profit f 580$. With a ton of merch left I offered my last customer the whole lot for 10 additional bucks, therefore saving me a trip to the salvation army. It was a great day and I wish I had had the time to do it more than once; since I had only thought of the week before I left.

Wishing you all the best of luck in your preparation for the adventure of a lifetime!

Have a specific question about moving, studying, or living in Paris? Email me at bloggerparis@gmail.com

A+EmilieinParis

Want to leave your feedback? Take my poll:

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Paris, Students, Study Abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

