Seeing a French TV show filmed

I promise that I have been doing more than brunching and eating in really great restaurants in Paris. A few weeks ago I got to do something very cool: I got to watch a French TV show being filmed.

While sitting with the fella in a very popular coffee chain a guy comes up to us and asks if we would like to “assist” a Canal Plus show. Canal Plus is a bit like HBO in France. It is a paid network but unscrambles daily to for news shows. Canal was one of my first introductions into French culture. When i was first a student in Paris I would trudge home at night, so exhausted that I could barely lift my feet to climb two flights of stairs and my brain had basically turned to pudding from trying to from simple sentences and to process day-to-day information. When I got home all I could manage to do was flop down on my bed and switch on the TV. This is when Canal Plus had its early evening news reports the Grande Journal and the Petit Journal. I was HOOKED! I learned so much French from these shows and so much about French cinéma, politics, and music. So obviously one being able to go see one of the shows in person was a pretty neat opportunity.947300_10100510072278340_712757390_n

The show that I went to see is called La Nouvelle Edition, where a panel of journalists presents different newsworthy topics (their theme song is Youngblood by Naked and Famous).
We were to be there from 11-14h so I thought it was going to be a lot of time on a studio platform. Really it was just a lot of waiting around, coat-checks, showing our IDs, munching on cookies and signing a waiver. There was such a variety of people. I thought it would all be young people but there was really groups of all ages at a little before 13h we filed into the studio. I was sat right behind the main presenter! Luckly I was not the person who was sitting to my left because this guy was in the close-up shots every three minutes or so. The stage manager was really funny and got everyone all pumped before the theme song began to play. Then the cameras started rolling and there I was on the screen of thousands of french people’s TVs. But who cares? Who was going to recognise me so all that was left to do was enjoy the show.

The experience was a whole lot like watching TV at home except the people watching it live could actually see ME. Not so shabby. That whole concept was a bit unnerving. But I got to sit a stones-throw away from my favorite panelists so it was really cool to be able to hear them exchanging little jokes during the commercial breaks and they’d look at me real proud when I heard them and laughed. Having not even watched the news that morning I was even surprised by some news from Louisiana.

All in all a really cool experience and anyone can go see a TV show filmed in Paris.
All you have to do is: go to http://www.casting-events.com/, register, choose any of their shows, choose the number of places, have a picture ID, and show up. and when you show-up for the taping you get two theater tickets to go see a huge choice of plays in Paris.

This was a great experience and would be a great activity for even a large group of students or tourists. It is an awesome cultural and memorable experience.

970112_10100510143924760_118787380_n

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Paris, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeing a French TV show filmed

  1. maryann says:

    This is the second time i’ve read this post – lots of fun to read your adventures, and when there’s nothing new, why not re-read? It brings back to mind this vivacious American girl and her appetite for French culture.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

