Les Deux Magots

photo

Named because of its original purpose: a tabaco shop in the 1800s the Deux Magots still has two large “eastern” figurines from a cigar advertisment hanging in the café. Magots is what eastern figurines from the era are called.

Statues,_Les_Deux_Magots,_Paris

I honestly thought that the name was in refference to mégot (mostly because I didn’t know how it was spelled) which is French for cigarette butt. It rumbled up a romantic image of cigarettes burning in a glass ashtray, one with a dark red lipstick smudge. It made me think of lovers canoodling on the terrace, ignoring their addiction sticks burning away in the cold as they sipped coffee and gazed longingly into eachothers’ eyes mumbling and cooing about how wonderful it would be to go out to the country together, to get away from Paris. But never meaning it because who could ever leave Paris?

Don’t come here for the service however and certainly don’t come in a hurry. The servers are the typical French type. Not fast to answer, only seem to speak English when you try to speak to them in French, and certainly in no rush.

There are no french fries or “frites” don’t order them this seems to annoy the staff greatly whether you are a local or not. DO however order the Croque Madame, very good and very typic bistro food. They also have a wonderful desert tray that a young woman carries around the dinning area these deserts are not only beautiful but absolutly delicious!

My favorite part of these morning luxury is the conversations I get to eves-drop in on. In cafés the tables are extremely close to each other to the point where if you are sitting on the inside bench you bassicaly have to prop your buttcheeks up on the lip of the opposite table and slide it across, risking knocking the salt and pepper (or worse somone’s plat de jour) to the ground just to get in and out of your spot even AFTER the tables have been moved aside. Moral of the story: those with heightened bladder functions should NOT take the bench seat. I use this as a meter for my weight: if I don’t pass with ease time to lay-off the croissants for a few weeks.

The conversation that my fella’ and I were privileged to capture the other week was nothing more than a gem of human exchange.
Well so much has happened you know I met my wife, we had our children together and then a few years later we got married, you know for tax purposes and we’ve been together for thirty years now” he trailed off in a whimsical way. “So things are going well” his guest asked suggestively what seemed to already be evident. ” oh no things are awful” he dropped the charade or perhaps the nostalgic musings of a romance once lived. “No things have been pretty terrible for at least the last ten years. That woman gets on my last nerve.”

In any case this conversation stuck with us and was greatly discussed over brunch the next morning at BUCHU.

For other restaurants in Paris checkout my category Restaurants in Paris HERE

 

6 Place Saint-Germain des Prés  75006 Paris
7am to 1am
01 45 48 55 25
www.lesdeuxmagots.fr

A+EmilieinParis

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Food, Paris, Paris Cafés, Restaurants in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Les Deux Magots

  1. Pingback: Cafe Flore | Emilie in Paris

  2. maryann says:

    What happened to Les Deux Magots??? I’ve looked everwhere…I think…but can’t find the post.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

