Great Brunch in Paris: Bechu

My Sundays in Paris have always been a sacred time for me: a day for sunny walks, falafel at L’as du Falafel, shopping at Chatlet, the marché de puce in Montreuil, and lots of lounging around with no responsibilities And in the last weeks I’ve added brunching to the itinerary.

The French have more recently embraced brunch as a weekend luxury. Which is a stark change from the everyday petite déj of an espresso and at the most a croissant! Brought to them through american series with the likes of the girls from Sex and the City brunching and gabbing the meal is a solid luxury. Think about it: people who can allow themselves to eat late morning, to sit around and drink orange juice ( and champagne!) while the rest of the world hustles and bustles.

Well this past Sunday I had one of the best brunches I’ve seen both in France and the states. At BECHU, 118 Avenue Victor Hugo, they have a large, copious and absolutely GOURMET brunch. This bakery is considered one if the best in paris and without a doubt the best in the 16th, with a constant line curving out the door of people who just refuse to buy their bread anywhere else.

First you have a hot drink: coffee, tea, or chocolate and a fresh squeezed fruit juice along with the first course wich is 1/2 a baguette, a mini croissant, mini pain au chocolate, 3 chouquettes, and apricot jam. Personally when they brought out this I thanked the heavens that I was ravaged because I didn’t know how I was even going to have the second course. Our main course was a choice of eggs ( I had mine in an omelette) and salmon, bacon or some other meat. I chose the salmon and it was served again on absolutely AMAZING fresh bread with freshly made mayonnaise, another roll, salad and the omelette wonderfully fluffy! Then came the desert: an assortment of tiny pastries a strawberry tart (AMAZING), Rassberry tart, two chocolate pastries, and two magnificent Macarons that i have to say are the BEST that I have tasted thus far. The whole thing was just absolutely glutenous and SO good

To top of everything the terras is in the ideal location for perfect sunlight! Between the heater and the sunshine this weekend I was allowed one and half hour of the delusion that I was in spring finally! And the people watching is wonderful, listen to the person next to you’s conversation, seems everytime I go to Brunch in Paris I pick-up a good story.

This place has certainly earned 5 stars from me and I HIGHLY recommend it for the brunch, the tart au fraise à la pistche, and their Vanilla Macarons.

For other restaurants in Paris checkout my category Restaurants in Paris HERE

A+ EmilieinParis

118 Avenue Victor-Hugo
Paris
Monday-Sunday 7:30am-8:30pm
About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Food, Restaurants in Paris, Tourist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Brunch in Paris: Bechu

  1. Pingback: Les Deux Magots | Emilie in Paris

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

