Why February sucks in Paris

1) it is the time between Christmas and Sport D’hivére. Pretty much the entire month of February all anyone ever talks about is what they are doing over the two week holiday the first week of March. So we spend 2 weeks discussing ski plans basically. No one is truly present all month having been dreaming all through February of icy slops or alpine spas.

2) Students are in exams very simply from mid January to the first week in March students are cramming and therefore ABSENT. Reducing somewhat the fun factor of some of my favorite watering holes. Also if your friends are french like some of mine are you truly don’t see them for over a month.

3) it is frickin cold and GREY. Even on the days where you get full sunshine the bitter wind just chills you profoundly to the bone. To the point wear you might as well already be wearing ski gear with this brilliant and blinding sunshine and severe burr factor.

4) the vegetables are horrible. Really that is the biggest thing in my book. The other day I went to the grocery store and practically all I could find in the veggies was lettus and carrots. It wasn’t that the shelves were missing things: they weren’t even labeled. No broccoli sign even in sight! And the tomatoes….. imagine asphalt in a powdered form, now sprinkle it on your salad. Hmmm not a big difference.

None the less Paris is a BEAUTIFUL no matter what time of year you visit but if I had to choose a month that I would hibernate through it would be February.

A+ EmilieinParis

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Tourist and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

