Surprise Jazz Concert January 2013

Well last night I had a pretty cool music experience. Sometimes I replace my friend who does the sound and programming at a jazz club in Paris when he plays a gig. Usually I just go in, the stuff is all set up and I just turn on the amp and things are ready to go and I get paid. Simple right? But last night someone had unplugged everything. Now, I “do” sound but I really have NO CLUE what I am doing, sort of just make it up along the way and sometimes i even just pretend to change levels when I have no idea what somoene is asking for (or stuff sounds just fine the way it is.) But I guess something must have sunk in because I was able to put it all back together really not knowing much about sound systems at all.

So first win for the night! All that was left was for me to wait for the band to get there. They were suppose to show at 6. At 7 they still weren’t there… no big maybe they were just late. The concert was suppose to start at 8 and at 7 45 I figured I needed a backup plan.

So i ran down blvd st. Germain in ropper boots at the last minute, and RDVed with a friend who lent me a guitar. On my dash back I desperatly called everyone i knew to try to put together a last minut band.

I started the concert on time and I played most of the night alone keeping a PACKED house, that had come to hear a totally different band, absolutely captivated.

In the last hour I had a fiddle player show up which was a LIFE SAVER because I was really starting to get tired. Being up on stage in a room of around 100 people and making up a songlist as you go along is not an easy task! So the night went off without a hitch. It was pretty much the first time that a band had never showed in the history of this club but I was really glad to have kept the night going and despite not having been, maybe, AS entertaining as a 5 piece band; I think people enjoied themselves. I sure did!

So all those years of playing solo sets in bars in highschool and college paied off.

Festival in Saulieu 2012

Festival in Saulieu 2012

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surprise Jazz Concert January 2013

  1. Kai Carver says:

    wow, congratulations!

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

