Emilie in Paris

an American’s gaffes, vécu, maladresses, and daily life in Paris since 2010

Funny comment on my blog

So everyone is familiar with spam; we all get emails automatically generated by some twisted fellows computer faroffwhere and are usually annoyed and moderately insulted by their contents.

Here on my blog I have a spam filter that is pretty darned efficient and has stopped somewhere around 2,000 spam comments from clogging up my blog. I never even had to see them but evey now and then my blog asks me to revise one or two of these comments. Today in checking my queue I found not the normal spam quote trying to help me get abs in 30 seconds, increase my breast size, or some Nigerian princess in need of a onetime loan but this:

Whilst I am upon the subject of Crimean thievery, I may as well exhaust it without paying any regard to the chronological order of my reminiscences. I have before mentioned what I suffered from the French. One day I caught one of our allies in my kitchen, robbing me in the most ungrateful manner. He had met with an accident near Spring Hill (I believe he belonged to a French regiment lent to assist the English in road-making), and had been doctored by me; and now I found him filling his pockets, before taking “French” leave of us. My black man, Francis, pulled from his pockets a yet warm fowl, and other provisions. We kicked him off the premises, and he found refuge with some men of the Army Works Corps, who pitied him and gave him shelter. He woke them in the middle of the night, laying hands rather clumsily on everything that was removable; and in the morning they brought him to me, to ask what they should do with him. Unluckily for him, a French officer of rank happened to be in the store, who, on hearing our tale, packed him off to his regiment. I gathered from the expression of the officer’s face, and the dread legible upon the culprit’s, that it might be some considerable time before his itch for breaking the eighth commandment could be again indulged in.

I don’t know what this is a quote from but This is a quote from Wonderful Adventures of Mrs Seacole In Many Lands. I thought it absolutely so clever as spam (and honestly so random of a citation) that I just had to share.

A+ EmilieinParis

2 responses to “Funny comment on my blog”

  1. Hmmm…. I sense the humor of a certain inhabitant of St Germain des Prés…

    1. Haha it would be probable but this was most certainly a spam comment when i floated the mouse over the sudo it was for some “financial” site. They probably just but something about France automatically generated to post on blogs that mentioned “France”

What do you think about EmilieinParis?