Emilie in Paris

an American’s gaffes, vécu, maladresses, and daily life in Paris since 2010

After a year and some

April 28th marked a monumental date for me. I celebrated a whole year that I have lived in Paris. To complete the year I put together a scrapbook of these past months. There is nothing that helps you put time into perspective like compiling every photo you have taken, every paper or sticker you have collected, every letter you have received and every ticket you have bought. It shows you all of the things that you have done, the things that have changed in you and the things that you have yet to see.

I have actually been here long enough to see the city change and I’ve changed quite a bit too.

I have done so many things. And some of the most amazing things have now become a day-to-day activity like walking in front of Notre Dame, reading a book by the Seine, or drinking a coffee on a terrace where some of the greatest pieces of French literature were created. But even though they are everyday they are far from mundane.

When I came to Paris I was so sure of who I was and what I wanted to do next but now a year later I see that I was basically a freshman again. I don’t know what I am doing next, what I really want from life or who I really am. But for the first time I’m actually asking the hard biting questions and finding out who I am instead of creating some personality I believe fits better into the world .

Life here can be frustrating but mostly it is all technicalities and once you have learned to work through the system ( or suck-it up and realize there is nothing to do but accept the ways of the French) then all you are left with is the beauty of this place that is Paris.

I came here running. It started out as running away from something and now i feel like I’m running TOWARDS something though I’m not all too sure what that I yet. In the year I have been here I’ve never felt closer to being who I really am and I can only hope that in the next year to come that person can become stronger.

So cheers to another year in Paris of chasing buses, freezing my butt off, sipping difficult to order coffee, smelly hot metros, desperately searching for the milk in the grocery store, celebrating American holidays in French ways, and to new discoveries every day.

4 responses to “After a year and some”

  1. karen bordelon Avatar
    karen bordelon

    Emilie,
    How I know the feeling so well….running towards something after running away from something? I never could figure out which I was doing during the first years in Germany in the late 70s and early 80s. As the months passed, I realized I had so much to do and places to go! I embraced the new adventures and lifestyles and in turn, they embraced me and contributed to who I am now. You are remarkable, brave, intelligent, and full of life! Continue to live and continue to reflect…you are living life! Miss you lots…and can’t wait to share stories with you!

  2. Intéressant de te voir avancer dans tes découvertes d’une autre culture et de toi-même par la même occasion. Vivre dans un pays étranger rend meilleur, plus indulgent, plus ouvert et plus tolérant. Découvrir que notre pays et notre conception de la vie ne sont pas nécessairement les meilleurs du monde ébranle forcément quelques-unes de nos certitudes de jeunesse, mais au moins les enthousiasmes et les agacements qui font partie de l’expérience sont fondés et ne sont pas l’expression de préjugés.

    En tant que francophone louisianaise tu as dû aussi faire de nombreuses découvertes linguistiques. Il serait intéressant aussi de lire tes commentaires à ce sujet.

    Bien cordialement.

  3. Hello!
    I’ve just started following your blog and I I’ve never been to Paris and am going 2016 but I already know that I will fall in love with the city.
    There is nothing more that I want than to be able to move to Paris. But how do you DO it??

    1. Thank you for your comment. There are tons of ways to move to the city. Something I will write about very soon is how I’ve arrived here. Many people come as students, au pairs, retirees, or tourists for a year. Basically my advice to anyone who wants to move to France is start by going onto the French Consulate nearest to you’s website and read up on every kind of visa that your country offers and see what applies to you. Subscribe to my blog and keep you eyes opened for more info of how I’ve been able to move and live here for so long.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?