THe return

Well after many a week I AM BACK.

It has been a while since my last update I had been so occupied with the holiday season and having my family here with me in Paris.

It was certainly wonderful to have them all here. A bit overwhelming trying to move that many people through a city but well worth it. I really do miss them now. I feel like i cried more when both groups of them left at the airport. It was pretty fair to say that I was a complete mess at the departures gate. But I quickly got back into my whole routine. A negative aspect of living in a big city the automatedness of your day can really make you numb and certainly makes time fly. My time with my family was way too short though. 2 weeks after 8 months doesn’t quite measure-up.

Highlights:
We went to the Effile tower for my little brother’s birthday/ christmas day.
And even though this looks like a fence behind us is really the Parisienne skyline.

I got to go Montmartre with my parents to see Sacré Coeur.

My dad and I walked around Pére Lachaise. We visited Jim Morrison and Chopin but then quickly became more interested in simply reading all of the family names out loud between the two of us.
And then on the last day that they were here my brother, dad, and I all went to Église Saint-Sulpice, somewhere that I had not really visited much and was really impressed by it this time. Will return for a more in depth visit.

We got to go back to the part of Saint-Germain where my dad had stayed on his first and only visit here and he bought a REALLY great poulet rôti at a Boulangerie that he had visited 21 years ago. And mom bought some canisters at Comptoir de Famille that she had been telling my about for years. On top of it all we got to spend time with some people who hadn’t seen my parents in 21 years and it was great to see some reactions and hear some of the stories.

All in all it was a great visit. It was impossible for me to show them everything great about this city that I’ve fallen so deeply in love with but that is what second visits are for!

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

