Love in Paris/ Boys are Babies

Men are total babies. They are messy they need your love more than they know it and they are prone to violent temper-tantrums at the drop of a hat. But French men are SOOOOOOOOOOOO much worse than the baby-men I’m use to in the US.

Women have these dreams about coming to Paris and falling in love with some French guy that will totally sweep them away and be beyond comparisson to those silly American boys. Well it is true that French men are some of the most atractive, affectionate, and interesting men in the world. BUT they are the biggest babies. What is to be realized about the French youth is that on average are completly supported by mommy and daddy until they are 30. So they are use to somone taking care of them all the time.I had recently started seeing a guy (really more like 2 or three dates over a few weeks) but the last time that I saw him, it became very evident that I was dealing with a totally different kind of guy over here.

Now as for my choice in guys in the past few years I’ve sure known how to pick a few winners, including one that my dad and friends so lovingly nicknamed “dweeb” a name which he so honorably merited. Bassically I know how to pick em’. They were all insensetive, non emotive, non affectionate, walking vials of testosterone. In France I seem to have gone the totally opposite way and that doesn’t seem to work as well as it seemed to in theory.

(And this leads to a long tesstimonal so feel free to skip to the bottom for the moral of the story)

So i met this guy; very sweet, attractive, a little nerdy, country boy (outside of the central city). First date, it was so nice to have someone hugging on me and looking at me all smile-eyes and kissing my neck but after the first few hours i was SUFFUCATING. Could i have my lips back for two seconds so I could talk? The last time I saw him he even started talking about meeting my parents when they came in a few months later. I mean i’m flattered that he wants to meet them but we are talking about my parents here, i don’t want to share what limted time I have with them trying to introducing them to a stranger who is latched onto me like a bat on a cave wall.

Then he pulled a total shock of a move! He wanted to come into the city to see me last Friday. Feeling a little like my style had been cramped and only having one night in the weekend to hang out with my girlfriends I told him I was busy with my friends, had plans, but we could see eachother next weekend. Side note: right now there is a transport strike in Paris and the situation is aggrevating with trains and stuff: Friday night (way to early in the night) he calls me and says he is stranded in Paris due to the trains and wants to meet up with me. This is a 100% girl move, he wanted me to rescue him. One: at the same time I had a friend coming into the station on the very same train he needed to catch and she assured me that there were about 4 more trains that night; Two: he has already told me once that he doesn’t have friends in the city so who was he coming into the city to go out with and why wasn’t he ridding back with them or driving his own car in when he knows the trains aren’t a sure thing right now?BAH in the end he invited himself to crash on my sofa which i kicked him off nice and early at 5 am so I could get ready to catch my train for the weekend (which I almost missed due to the strikes). He was acctually shocked when I sent him streight to the other room when he got to my apart and I didn’t hang out with him then or in the morning.

5 days later I am still mad and feeling manipulated.

And this leaves me wondering what is it really all worth at this point? I’m in an amazing city, I’m busy buliding a new life, I’ve got some great new friends that I love spending time with, I really don’t have the time to be picking up, or rescuing a boy right now.

MORAL:
So ladies I implore of you PLEASE do not move to Paris with the hallusination that you will leave with the great love of your life. Come here for yourself and enjoy the amazing person you can become by being on your own. And most importantly make some girlfriends along the way. There is nothing like sitting on a Terrace with your girls and gossiping about people’s fasion choices. Girlfriends are invaluable in this city.

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

