Giant Colthes Eating Monsters

I have been smart in the last few years to develop a wardrobe that contains what I like to call key pieces. These are items of clothing that I spend much more than average on ( and maybe more than I should) but only because I know that they are essential, dynamic, and will last me for a few years. Well the later not being true since I’ve moved to France.

My mom always fussed at me for mixing my colored clothes: reds, pinks, blacks, khaki, it all went together with no damaging effects. I never saw any reason to separate them as I got everything done all at once, saving time and energy. Well since I’ve moved here I’ve been forced to change this and many other habits. It seems that colors in clothes, even ones that I’ve had for years (for example jeans) all run together. The other day however this rose to another level of bizarre. I washed a whole load of clothing that was lime green, figuring this was safe considering all the items were the same color. However when I pulled out my favorite lime green Smartwool socks they had turned gray!
My only pair of warm socks for my feet, that get abnormally cold with hardwood floors and no central heating, had not just been tinted but completely dyed gray.

I’ ve tried many variations of soaps and machines and approaches but at this point I’m thinking the laundry machine is targeting my favorite clothes!
The death count stands at:
Two pink socks turned purple (separate cycles)
4 shirts
2nice tops
2 black turtle necks that are now see-through
innumerable “unmentionables”
and one very adorable dress

The amazing thing is I don’t know where some of the colors are coming from. How do you wash 5 white t-shirts alone and have only ONE of them turn a wonderful shade of periwinkle and the others be more brilliant before? Washing Laundry in this country is like playing a Power Ball game or something. You put em’ all in a bowl, watch em’ spin around in a glass dome, impaciently pray and beg, and in the end hopefully you fall even.

What might be even sadder than now having a very unexpected but creative color palette of clothing is that I’m putting so much thought into my laundry.

Well now I have a new pair of gray socks!

Moral of this story:
There is no going back so if that’s what life hands you, OWN IT!

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giant Colthes Eating Monsters

  1. Amy Brassieur says:

    Back in 1982 or so, my husband was playing music in Paris, dropped his permanent press shirts at a laundry to be washed. They came back smushed in a pile, colors didn’t fade, but they were so wrinkled that even many washings and tumble dryings back home didn’t get the wrinkles out. We still haven’t figured out how the laundry did that.

    There must be invisible laundry demons in Paris.

  2. Megan Brown says:

    peut-etre quand tu mets tes vetements dans les laveurs, il y a des couleurs qui restent des autres personnes qui’avaient lave leur vetements avant toi.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

