Why?

SO my arm has almost healed now almost two weeks later. Still have a bruise and a hard strip in my muscle the exact shape of a metro step. Hope that smooths out. Or maybe one day it’ll make a good transition topic on my first date with my future husband: “You want to feel something weird? Touch my arm. Yeah gross huh? happened when I lived in France. Yeah that’s right I lived in France, I’m interesting.”

The weather here has been AMAZING and so i’ve been out everyday collecting new things to write about but having no time to write at all! Soon it will be cold however and the time will crawl by and I’ll be begging for something to write about.

Things that have been going on. Well this weekend I welcomed one of my friend from home that just moved here. She and I went to High School together and also studied in Canada together. It is very nice to have someone who knows everyone and everyplace that I know and when I talk about anyone it doesn’t have to involve a 10 minute explanation. She lives in Bon lieu (suburbs) and so she comes to see me in the big city. (for some reason this concept makes me laugh)
She accompanied me to my friend Anita’s birthday party. Where David had made Boudin! Randi said “I didn’t know how much I missed this”. She has been here for a week. How do you think I feel after 5 months? THe party was GREAT and I got to play some great music. Fastest cajun music I’ve EVER played thanks to a rockin bass player, what fun! Sarah’s group played a concert, great as always.

I got to sit-in and watch a photo session the band did the other day and I was really impressed by them all. They are all so professional but yet they are always joking and fully expressing themselves, perfect mesh. I’m so amazed by Sarah. She knows EXACTLY what to do in every pose, nothing about her isn’t perfect for the photo. She puts on a show in front of the camera and knows exactly what she is doing. Makes me think I need to spend some more time playing in front of the mirror. I want to become the perfect living pin-up. I think I made have found my definitive style, always known that but now I’m willing to put in the time to perfect it.

I’ve been cooking a lot of beignets, i think by now I’ve perfected them. I made a Jambalya the other day at a friend’s house. Since I’ve been here he has wanted me to teach him how to make a “une vrais Jambalya de Louisiane” I don’t know if I can say that my Jambalya is the trend-setter of Louisiana Jambalyas but it was pretty darn good. Always hard to cook something for the first time when you are so far from home. No blackpot, none of the base ingredients that I’m use to, different meats. The result: a Jambalya with all the taste I wanted but none of the color. OH WELL. Close your eyes and it is just like being at home. I made a whole pasta pot of it and those 4 Frenchies ate the whole thing. I was ready to be eating for weeks! I guess i’ll just have to make another. haha.

Hung my UL jersey up in my room. This city, this place. Is really starting to feel like home.

A+

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

