I Fell in the Metro

Today I had something bad happen to me, I fell in the Metro. At 8:30 I was going up the stairs at Strasbourg- St. Denis and the toe of my sandal caught the lip of the stair in back of me and I fell forward. I had brought my guitar to school and so having my right hand occupied I caught my entire body weight onto the top of my left arm that came in contact with the edge of the step. With the initial shock I bounced back up determined to get onto the next train, having no time to spare getting to school to take my final exam. Today was a good day. I woke-up an hour early ready to start the morning bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, in a very rare and exceptionally good mood and so I was pumped to get to class and dominate a test that I felt 100% ready for. As I climbed the rest of the stairs to the platform I could already see the bruise forming in the exact imprint of the edge of the steps but i was running off of sheer adrenaline. I got onto the train which lucky me was not crowded at all and a woman even made room for me to lean my guitar up against a seat. Then I started to feel the pain. It was overwhelming and instantly I thought to myself “I’ve broken my arm” fear and panic didn’t even have time to set all the way in before I blacked-out. I traveled 7 Metro stops (around 15 minutes) before I regained consciousness on the platform of Cité. Somehow I had managed to get out of the train WITH my guitar, put my things down, open my backpack, and put down a folder to sit on before I fainted. I faintly  remember two German(?) girls about my age speaking to me and giving me water, and looking to see if I had a phone to call an ambulance to come get me. The next thing I knew there was an older woman trying to help me. I hope I thanked those girls. Apparently they had relayed the information that they had seen me faint in the train before getting myself out but I don’t think I ever got the details of how that happened. This woman who I found myself with though was wonderful. She was so comforting and I can remember her trying to keep me from trying to pick my things up and getting on the train alone. I think I tried to communicate in french with her yet still to this moment am not sure what language either of us were speaking. I just wanted to get back on the train and get to school I had to get there. I suppose she figured she couldn’t stop me and so she took my stuff, insisting that she accompany me and this is when the strangest thing happened. As the train was pulling by I saw all a blur except one figure in the door of a cart, my new friend Emilia who I had only become close to the night before. This is so strange because it is IMPOSSIABLE to much less find someone you are meeting-up with in the city and so it was amazing that one of my classmates, friends and generally most one of the considerate people ever, was right there at the door. I pulled her out of the train and then things started to clear up a little but for me, I remember it all much clearer. The woman, still by my side, explained to Emilia the situation and the two of them bought me a bottle of water, it was the most amazing taste ever and I suddenly felt alive again but then the pain in my arm came back. The two of them got me on a train. The trains before this one had been PACKED this one though held plenty of room for all of us. This woman was still by my side having me assure her I would see a doctor and making sure that Emilia would promise to see me safe to where we were going. This woman was amazing. I told her about this blog so if you are reading this: j’espère que vous savez comment vous m’avez sauvé aujourd’hui vous êtez un ange et je remercie à dieu que vous étiez la pour moi. Merci du fond de mon coeur. Je vous n’oublierai jamais.

The amazing thing: Emilia and I arrived RIGHT on time for class and I made it through 2.5 hours of the 3 hour exam. Also, I’m very sure that I did GREAT on it despite my awful handwriting due to the fact I was shaking with the pain. Towards the end when I had written all but one concluding paragraph of my exam the pain became too much and my third angel of the day came to my rescue. My teacher took amazing care of me getting me ice, water, something to eat, giving me her sweater, and making sure that I would be alright.

In the end I have a HUGE bruise on the top of my arm and still an egg that I cannot touch where I met the step. I am almost certain there is no break despite the pain and my initial reaction to the injury. The great thing about it was that I got through it. Granted when I was in my apartment, alone, at the end of the day I cried like a little baby and I wanted my Papo and my Mommy but I got through something really scary and this is going to greatly affect me.

Today so many people went out of their way to help me all of them practical strangers if not total ones. Even on my way home a woman saw me holding my arm, stopped me and gave me a medical wipe that helped quite a bit. I saw a beautiful side of the human spirit today and this is something that will stay with me forever.

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Fell in the Metro

  1. hello Emilie! glad to hear how you got through despite that accident, I was yesterday getting together with our metro-driver friend Michel Lemare…
    The 3 times I saw you, you were borrowing guitars, now I understand that you reserve yours to take metro in the morning to go to school, as a companion to pass exams, especially…

  2. Anita says:

    I think Strasbourg-Saint-Denis was mad at you for calling it the smelliest station (I won’t say which one *I* think is the smelliest for fear of falling). Hope you’re feeling better, and don’t forget arnica, though it’s a bit late for it now.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

