Sorry

I just haven’t had anything to write about lately. I started a new class. General French 3, so that means I moved up a level. I’ve been traveling some with Bobby Michot, playing some gigs in some towns a little south of Paris which I very much enjoyed doing. Bobby knows a lot of things about my parents and all my family and so it was really interesting to hear all of his stories. Then this past weekend I traveled with Sarah Savoy to Saulieu where they hae this pretty huge Cajun festival. I really enjoyed it. There were plenty of opportunities to jam.
The Friday night we got there I got to see all my old friends from La Bande Feufolette which was really great. We got there while they were on stage and I could tell as each of them caught sight of me they were looking at me and thinking “wow that looks like Emilie” and then suddenly they realized it WAS me. I guess I seemed out-of-place somewhat in a foreign country. When you travel as much as they do you see people all the time that remind you of someone back home, it is very very rare that it actually turns out to be that person! So I got to say a quick hello to each of them before they took off to rest up for their next stop (some of them). Lucky though I will see them all tomorrow as they stop through the city on their way back to Louisiana.
The next night I got to hang with the ladies from Bon Soir Catin. It was a little like being with my Mama again which made me both happy and sad at the same time. I hope we will also get to see them tonight at a picnic that Sarah is throwing.
The night after Saulieu Sarah and her group played at a DINGY club where the owners, servers and workers were some of the most SOUR, RUDE, and downright unpleasant people I’ve ever met. But there was some up-sides to the place. For one the beers were ENORMOUS. When you ordered a pint what you really received was a barrel, one of those beer steins that you would receive at Germanfest. It was the Sam’s club version of a pint, buy a regular one get 20% more free. I’ll write more about what the people drink out here at another time. Also the food was FANTASTIC. I had no idea that it was going to be so good so I mistakenly filled up on a plate de charcuterie (meat plate with man meats preserved in fat and the french ham) because you never know what you’ll get at something like this. But what was served to use was the most AMAZING beef. The cut was fabulous and the seasoning was just right, neither Sarah nor I added anything to it! Sarah was trying to split a peice with her husband and she ended up eating all of it and then some. I would have eat three times as much as I did if my tummy had let me. AMAZING. turns out that the area we were in, Morvan, is well known for a certain typpe of beef and the fellow that owned this place was the president of an association that organises all of that. WHOA well even with all that aside that was some amazing cut of beef.

That night Sarah asked me to come on stage and do a few songs which was GREAT. I love to feel like I’m a little part of her amazing show that she puts on but it is very hard to go on after a powerhouse of energy and presence like Sarah. I admire her so much. I have such a great time going on trips with her, the baby, and the rest of the band. They all have such a great time together and they play some really amazing music.

And that is all I’ve been doing. I’ll start touring the city a little bit more that I’m back for a few weeks of solid school so I might have some new insights soon.

A+
singing a song “mon homme n’est pas arriver” with Sarah and Madeline.

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

