The sidewalks are not even all that safe.

Today I realized the extent of the fact that Paris is not a pedestrian friendly city. While walking to school this morning and only a few blocks from home I almost got flattened by a motorcycle. I was not near a corner or any logical place where a motorcycle would turn out. Lucky me I was walking just slightly in the middle of the sidewalk and not total on the correct side of the walk when a motorcycle bulleted past me at a ridiculous speed right where I should have been walking had I been following pedestrian law. I thought to myself “wow that was close glad I won’t have to deal with that again” and then WHOOOOSH another one going even faster came up right behind me. This time I actually got rub-burn from his jacket nipping my elbow. Basically motorists here think they own the road and all of its appendages. You have to constantly be on your guard even when it is a given that you should feel comfortable in this city.

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Paris quirks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

