Lezz go lunch

Lunch is extremely important to the French. You don’t call anywhere at 11:50 in the afternoon and everywhere but restos shut don completely until 2 to observe this sacred 2 hour ritual.

So i have learned the best way to eat lunch as a student Monop. nope no typo in there Monop is a small version of the superstore Monoprix (French equivalent to target), and perhaps the most cleverly named store here. The store names here aren’t like in America they are all very clever and not geared directly at having you remember them. You remember where things are, not what they are called.

But I digress. Eating on campus can get REALLY expensive because the cafs (if you find a school that has one) serve mostly sandwiches and coffee, that’s about the extent of their menu. So if you don’t pack your lunch you go out. Students get good discounts with their student card but even that puts you at about 10 euro a meal granted that is a “formule” with includes an appetizer, an entrée, a drink, usually a side, a desert, and bread of course. but all the same 10 euros a day is A LOT. PROBLEM SOLVED. IN the Monop you can buy “plates” or salads, pastas, quiches, sandwiches,  tartines, and so many other choices from the “lunch” section there are also cakes, pudding-like, yogerts to choose from as your desert. This section however can be a bit pricy as it is all prepared for the sake of being consumed at ease. I how ever took the more scavengeresque approach. I made a picnic. I bought four ENORMOUS eggrolls, an apple, a bag of chips and a box of cookies for around 4 euro.So for less than half of what I would have paid for at a resto I got MORE food and I got to put some of it in my bag and take as a snack for later. Take THAT no doggie-bag rule!

SO you say your school doesn’t have a microwave and you want hot food so that is why you eat out, I render your argument invalid! Monop has one that is available to you right at the front door to heat up anything you buy. On top of that they have a table and chairs for you to eat and drink the things that you have bought in the store. They’ve got the whole set-up for a practically home cooked meal. But you gotta bring your own dishes. Or go to the bigger Monoprix and buy some.

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Students and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

