Amazing find in Paris

Today I spent the afternoon with my friend Maggie from England. I have an amazing friend in her. But she introduced me to an AMAZING resource in Paris and that is the Free guided tours of Paris. Discovery walks is a guided tour by native Parisians from Notre Dame to the Parthenon(not in Greece). The tours meet at 1 for the secrets of Notre Dame where you learn all sorts of facts about the gargoyals, the windows, and the achitecture of the building.
Did you know that Notre Dame’s doors are a depiction of the resurection of Christ and the reason they are so elaboratly done is that no one but the Monks, Preists and other clurgy could read so the only way that somone could “read” the bible would be through art and as art was not a public domain like it is today the churches put the stories of the bible into the church, literaly (haha book jokes).

Then a second tour begins at 2:30 that shows you around the Latin Quarter (the left bank).
The Napoleon Bridge infront of Notre Dame is not the original bridge. It was rebuilt three times. Originally it had rows of houses over it and it crossed a river. When the river would get cold in winter the bridge and all the buildings built onto it would colapse into the river. After building the bridge and the houses up again three times and having them tumble back into the river it was finally decided that these houses were not a good idea. So the bridge now stands in its forth form with the famous big Ns on it.

I learned so much from the tour guide. It is a really small protion of the Latin quarter that is toured but it takes a good hour and 1/2 to see it all. And a plus is that the tour is free (though the young guides work for tips).

I highly recomend it!

A+

Emilieinparis

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Tourist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

