Fun things about france

The French drink hot chocolate and coffee out of bowls in the morning. I don’t think I’ll ever want to do it any other way.

McDonald’s is a strange taste without American cheese.

EVERY TV show has at least four little text or call chances for audience members to win amounts of 3,000 euro by answering questions about the show. Good ploy to keep people watching and probably a good money-maker.

French people LOVE Target and Wal-Mart when they go to the US. Even the supermarket equivalent here won’t sell you a gun and a set of new tires at the same time. They are amazed by it and yet disgusted by big commerce like Louis Viton and Prada.

French Pop music for the most part is really awful and they prefer american music. The Jazz and Indie scenes however have an amazing product but most of it is in English…hmmm.

French TV uses extremely popular American pop songs in all of their TV editing instead of opting for generic piano chords or soothing jazz. For example putting in Katie Perry’s I Kissed a Girl into an extremely awkward scene of someone’s confession of secret love. It doesn’t fit and it seems like the editor may have just put his ipod on shuffle.

Starbucks it very popular here and often has lines out the door. Amazing that the coffee chain does so well in a place renown for its coffee. But really it is the best coffee in town. Nothing at all like the water and chocolate syrup they serve in the US.

Lately i’ve been doing a lot of self-discoverence and have yet to really be ready to share these findings with the rest of the world. That is why i haven’t been blogging as much. What I can say is right now I’m in a better place than I’ve ever been. I’m really happy with the things that are happening and the stuff that I’m finally figuring out after years of struggling. I’m finding some peace and it is amazing.

On another note today in France it is la Fête de Mère. So if you missed it in the US about a month ago hug your mom today. Or hug her for no reason at all.

A+

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Paris quirks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun things about france

  1. Katherine says:

    Thumbs up, Emelie. I knew Paris would be a great experience for you. I’m a complete supporter of your ‘self-discoverence’………

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

