Where have you been?

I feel like I’ve been busy busy. I’ve been trying to get things done while the weather is BEAUTIFUL here. It is still chilly by my standards but the sun has been out for the past few days and I’ve been loving it.
I got dates all mixed up with my friends coming in from Germany and my going to a festival this weekend. So i ended up planning them at the same time. And as is my fashion after royally messing things up…I found a solution and can do both. I will miss a slice of both pies but i still end-up fat and happy in the end. So my weekend is all planned and along with spending time with my friends in the city. I will be fleeing the walls of Paris to the countryside to breath in some “bonne air”, or good air that all these city people talk about.

Today I met with my school and found out that the study program that I so desperately want to be in requires that I have a level of perfect French by September. That gives me three months to master the language by French standards. Can I do this? I don’t know. Am I going to work so hard that my brain melts out of my head? YES.
So school will start the first of June. A super intensive program of 20 hours a week for an entire month. 9h-12h of written courses and an extra class 14h-17h on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I’m glad I didn’t wait too long to get back into school because this will be more work than any semester I ever took. Well maybe 20 hours of British Lit was a lot harder because it resulted in 50 pages of my own thoughts. But these next three months have my ability to live out my scholastic goals here in France. If I don’t make this happen… there is really no point in me being here.
The positive is even if I don’t make it into the diploma program that I want I will have a much better understanding of the French language. I have to look at it that way. Also even if I don’t make it I will have really striven for something that I didn’t think was possible.

There is some sunny-side-up to this egg!

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where have you been?

  1. Katherine says:

    Good luck, girly. I know you can do it! Enjoy your weekend.

  2. mom says:

    It is going to be hard. Have patience and perseverance and just do exactly what they want you to. It’s their program and they make the rules. And French schools are into rules as I recall. Good luck. Enjoy your time while you are free. Don’t forget, you have friends there who can help you with language issues, too. Love, Mom

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

