Prendre une Promenade

I always crave lemonade. Today I am going to buy and Orangina, my favorite French delight.

Yesterday I discovered that I did not bring sufficient walking shoes. What shoes are great walking shoes in Louisiana do not hold-up here. Most of the streets are still cobblestones here and if you plan to ever visit the Cimetiere du Perre-Lachaise then you need to be ready to walk for a long time and up some steep inclines.

That graveyard was harder to navigate than paris itself! First of all I started on the complete opposite side of the yard from Edith Piaf’s grave, which is what I had gone to see. It took me a good hour and a half to actually reach her grave site and I was trekking it. SO WORTH IT. Not only was her site just a monument of her fans’ love for her but the grave sites around her were just PURE ART. It was beautiful. I don’t know why I didn’t take pictures of it all. Well I know why…complete exhaustion and tired feet, thank god for smart wool socks! I was on a total mission, such a mission that I passed up Jim Morrison and Chopin to get there.   So I back tracked where I met up with my little friends the Cemetary cats.

Those cats had me rolling on the ground laughing. It felt so good to laugh so hard. These cats were posing for pictures and begging for food.

Just imagine a big fat cat starring your twix bar down, it is hysterical (especially when you are imagining him saying in a french accent “you know you want to give my ze candy bar. It would please you yes?”)

Last night I sang at the clossing of the Jakamo, the New Orleans inspired bar in my quartier. What a great place. I’m so bummed i only got to enjoy it for two nights. The patron Daniel is a very nice man and took good care of me. Some places here being from Louisiana is as good as a black mastercard.

Well i’m off to walk and to jump onto the Metro for the first time!

A+

Emilieinparis

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Tourist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prendre une Promenade

  1. Jenna says:

    Emilie, I can totally hear your fat kitty cat voice, and I laughed out loud in class. So wonderful!

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

