Welcome to France

Well my flight arrived in Paris ten minutes early. After 12 hours of travel I had finally arrived. I have to say…the customs in France had my panties all in a bunch but it was maybe the easiest part of my whole trip. They didn’t ask any questions of me, just gave me the stamp. Not like when we arrived in Canada and Papo and I got the thrid degree. I suppose Canada had nothing better to do at three in the morning than to give some sleepy Cajuns a hard time. Well Doc and Viviane picked me up from the international terminal and the whole trasition went smoothly. They brought me to my apartment and I got to see a little bit around my “quartier” . My apartment is right above an Arabic resto. So that means i can get fat on Humus and Gyro all i want.  The apartment itself is so cute. It is quite a bit larger than i expected as it is two apartments that Christian bought and connected. The connection is a very dangerous step-up that I forsee being problamatic after one of my trips to the Express Café downstairs. The place is very french with a color sceme of oranges and yellows with splashes of either green or blue in each room. There is a musical instrument on every wall so I don’t think i’ll be starring off into space to often. I intend to learn to play one or two of them while I am here.

 

{My bedroom window}

Doc, Viviane, and Christian brought me to Restaurant Assoce, a Turkish resto about a block away. It was good. I forgot that in France Appetizers (really called Entrées) are part of the whole meal so EVERYONE orders one and a main dish AND desert. No way could i eat all that food, and it wasn’t little portions either. But boy was that some amazing Chicken!  And the bread! Just walking down the street every person had a freshly baked baguette in their hand (how is that for a stereotype) and shop windows had the most beautiful creations in them! This place is so beautiful.

Tomorrow night i will be going out for my first night on the town. Sarah Savoy is playing at the Jaquamo club tomorrow night, it is a block away so i don’t have to brave the Metro quite yet.

I think i may go lean my head out of my window and stare down either end of my street for the next few hours.

A +

Emilieinparis

About Emilie

I'm a small girl with big ambitions and very little common sense it seems. I decided after I graduated from college that I would move from my little city of Lafayette Louisiana to the raging monster city that is Paris. In 4 months of planning I have now uprooted everything I had in an amazing town to live in a truly wild place where I have no idea WHAT I am going to do. But isn't that the fun of it all. So here is cheers to getting lost, breaking hearts, starving, and many wonderful adventures that come along with finding yourself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to France

  1. susan brazell says:

    Love getting the updates,seeing ur.

  2. Katherine Mouille says:

    I give you permission to eat enough Hummus for both of us-I love good hummus. I’m sure it is pretty amazing there.
    Love the apartment and glad things are going well!!!

  3. Mike Baldwin says:

    The metro really isn’t that bad, it’s a lot cleaner than the tube for sure…I hate the carnet though because you have to use the same one to get in an out so if you have a bunch it gets confusing…

What do you think about EmilieinParis?

